Finding the Blessings in a Crappy Medical Diagnosis

I love to write, but anyone who follows me on this blog or through other social media knows that I have been pretty much silent over the past few months (for close to a year really) and the reason is this:

Arthritis.

My official diagnosis came this week -Osteoarthritis in both hands and my knee which, in turn, has put my hips and back out of balance and caused my life to be consumed by pain. But I’m not going to complain about it.  Instead, I’m going to remember a few blessing in this diagnosis, remain positive, and find a way to move on with the rest of my life and get back to the things that make me happy – like writing.

A few of the blessings I am thankful for:

  1.  Arthritis won’t kill me.
  2. The type of arthritis I have is much better than some of the other types.  It could be way worse.
  3. I live in Canada where healthcare is free.
  4. I have an incredible role model who has lived with arthritis almost her entire life and pushes through the pain – my 13 year old daughter.

So, as I start treatment I am optimistic.  The pain has put my writing on pause for now and is causing delays in finishing my manuscript, but I know it’s only temporary.  I should be back to writing soon…stay tuned 🙂

2 thoughts on “Finding the Blessings in a Crappy Medical Diagnosis

Leave a Reply

