Me Time For This Mom (#metime4thismom)

strawberriesIt’s been an odd week.  I’m on summer hours at work so I’m home by 1:30 every afternoon I’m scheduled to work, my youngest daughter is at camp, my oldest is babysitting pretty much fulltime over the summer, and my husband is at work which means I get to have some much needed ‘Me Time”.

O.K. who am I trying to kid?  I’m pretty sure “Me Time” is an urban myth.

Yesterday, I found myself with a dilemma – Take some “Me Time” and go for a swim without anyone around to splash me, ask me to get out of the pool to get them something, etc. OR go get groceries so we would have something to eat for supper.  Sadly, groceries won out because, well, that’s what us moms do.  We think of everyone else all of the time. (Some of us also don’t listen to the weather that would have told us that by the time we got home from grocery shopping there would be a thunderstorm so we wouldn’t get to go swimming later like we thought…sigh).

While shopping I came across some local strawberries.  Strawberries are a rare treat at my house because both of my daughters are allergic to them, but yesterday I made an impulsive decision and bought two boxes – just for me.  I trusted that my daughter learned her lesson the last time I bought strawberries and she decided to “just” lick one, which resulted in a trip to the ER.

Like most moms I tend to spend my days doing stuff for others and little, if anything, for myself.  So, it should come as no surprise that despite having bought my two boxes of strawberries with the full intension of treating myself to strawberry shortcake last night that I became too busy carting my teen around and helping my husband with something that I didn’t end up having any strawberries at all.

Sound familiar to you moms out there?

So, this morning after getting up at 5:30 am to ensure my daughter got to her summer job by 6:30 and then spending an hour and a half running errands for my husband, and another hour outside tending to the bunnies before it gets too hot for them to be out I finally managed to have my strawberries.  I took them outside, listened to the birds chirp, watched the bunnies hop around like fools, and just relaxed.  Finally, “Me Time” for this mom.

I’m going to challenge myself to take time each day just for me even if it’s only for a minute and I’m going to tweet it as #metime4thismom to hold me accountable to ensure I do it.

I challenge all you moms out there to do it with me.

Lisa Pomfrey-Talbot is the author of the children’s chapter book, JENNIE FOWLER NIGHTTIME PROWLER. 

One thought on “Me Time For This Mom (#metime4thismom)

Leave a Reply

