Things We Take For Granted: Our Hair

Anyone who knows me is well aware that my hair has been long the bulk of my life.  The only exception was in grade 7 when a new hairstylist decided to “try something new” which, from my perspective, was disastrous.  In the age of big hair the likes of Madonna and Cindy Lauper I sat in horror with tears streaming down my eyes as my long hair fell to the floor and was replaced with a Pat Benatar (circa1985) cut that just really wasn’t me in any capacity.  It took three full years to grow it to a chin-length bob.  Growing out your hair in junior high sucks.

What sucks more, though, is getting cancer when you’re in junior high and losing your hair as you fight for your life.  That’s why last week I went to the hair salon and said, “Chop it.”

Before

Before

I found a hair extension/wig company in Langley, British Columbia called 360 Hair that creates wigs for kids and teens with cancer.  They do the work 100% pro bono and not only are the wigs free for these kids but they are uniquely styled for them.  Since long hair is in right now they have a strong demand for long lengths thus the reason I let my hair grow longer than I usually do and have been sporting a ponytail to keep it contained for the last 6 months or so.

hair cut - braids

What I especially love about this company is their minimum length is only 6 inches and they can take hair even if it has been coloured or it is grey which means my hair qualifies.

I ended up cutting off 12 inches.

The result….

hair cut - after

…a fresh new bob for summer!

So, now it’s just a matter of sticking my braids in the mail and sending them off.

If you have long hair and you want to donate it visit 360 Hair’s website for details on how to do the cut and where to send it.

http://360-hair.com/how-to-donate-hair/

Lisa Pomfrey-Talbot is the author of JENNIE FOWLER NIGHTTIME PROWLER (Cathydia Press, 2014). 

One thought on “Things We Take For Granted: Our Hair

Leave a Reply

