Introducing Cathydia Press – A Publisher Focused on New & Emerging Writers

For as long as I can remember I wanted to be a published author.  I came from a family with a modest income and though we didn’t have much as kids my mother somehow managed to ensure I was surrounded by books and my beloved Young Miss Magazine. I would wait eagerly for it to arrive and would daydream about growing up, moving as far away from home as possible, and becoming a magazine editor who wrote books on the side.  Then the reality of being a relatively poor kid hit and choosing a career became much less about what I actually wanted to do with my life and completely about what I could afford to study that would get me a job right away when I graduated so I could pay off my student loans.  Writing and publishing just weren’t feasible options at that point in my life so I put my real interests aside for almost 2 decades. 

Then one day in my mid-thirties my two daughters, who were quite young at the time, stormed into my room with their hands on their hips saying I was a liar for telling them they could be whatever they wanted to be when they grew up because if that were true I’d be a writer.  So, I was left with a dilemma.  Do I explain to them all the very real legitimate reasons I didn’t become a writer or do I give them a lesson in determination, perseverance, and patience?  I chose the latter.

Today (several years later) I’m excited to introduce you to my new publishing company, Cathydia Press. We will be starting out small, publishing only one book in 2014 and, yes, that book will be mine.  However, we have a solid plan to grow next year and begin to add new titles and authors in 2015.  Our focus initially will be on new and emerging authors of children’s fiction and adult fiction. We will be using a collaborative approach to publishing and marketing high quality books and e-books.

I want to emphasize that we are not accepting submissions right now, however, we expect to be ready for queries later this year.  Our official website is currently being designed and will be launched soon.  In the meantime, I encourage you to like our new Facebook page www.facebook.com/cathydiapress to stay up to date with all of our news. 

Image

P.S.  If you’d like to help us with our very first cover reveal for the children’s chapter book Jennie Fowler Nighttime Prowler happening on Friday, June 30th please drop us a line before then to info@cathydiapress.ca and we’ll email you everything you’ll need to reveal it on your blog.

 

Leave a Reply

