The Birthday Jinx

Earlier this week I celebrated my birthday.  Actually, celebrated probably isn’t the right word to use as I had the misfortune of waking up to a rather unpleasant flu bug which kept me in bed for 3 days.  I suppose on the plus side of things it meant I got to stay in my PJs most of the day. 

I seem to have been jinxed when it comes to birthdays.  Most people dread them because it means they are a year older, blah, blah, blah.  I dread them because every few years something bad seems to happen on or around my birthday – car accident, flood, major blizzard, flu…

Despite the fact my day didn’t turn out to be what I had hoped, I’m optimistic that this will be one of my best years ever.  This is the year I realize my life-long dream of walking into a store and seeing my book on the shelf.  It’s probably best I was sick on my birthday because I’ll have no time for illness when July hits!

Leave a Reply

