This Week’s Goal – Writing Down My Goals

I’ll give 2014 credit – it’s been an interesting year so far and it’s only just begun.  There’s been a lot happening in my life, some of it fabulous and some of it quite heart-wrenching.  Most of it has been unpredictable and unexpected so I’ve been forced to adjust some timelines as I go with the flow that is my life.  I’m a working mom with two active kids and a husband.  I should know better than to expect anything other than unpredictability!

I had made the decision back in December that 2014 would be the year I would set goals, blog about them, and work really hard to achieve them.  I would write goals about what I wanted to achieve with my blog, with my writing career, how many books I hoped to read this year, and some personal goals linked to a business I’m planning to start that should have been off the ground by now, but isn’t because I’ve gotten sidetracked with life. 

With that said, I actually have accomplished a lot and I’m trying to give myself some slack given I spent most of January recovering from surgery and that recovery took much longer than expected. Then both of my kids and I ended up sick.  Today is the first day I actually feel reasonably well.  I’ve managed to write a speech for a huge event I’m speaking at next week (future blog post) and I submitted an article to the local paper highlighting the accomplishments of our local badminton club at their recent tournament as my official volunteer role with the club is that of communications person.  So, I’m getting stuff done, just not what I had hoped to get done.

With any luck I will find some time over the next few days to sit down and really think about what I want to accomplish this year and start being able to focus on what I want to do rather than responding to what I have to do. 

I have great ambitions and I’m determined to make great things happen this year – for me and maybe even for you, too.  (That’s the only hint I’m giving today about my new business.  You know, the one that was supposed to be started in January…sigh.)

For now, I am setting one goal: 

Write down my goals. 

See you next time!

 

 

Leave a Reply

