Impatiently Waiting

I am not a patient person.  It’s one of the main reasons I hate shopping.  Yes, you read that correctly.  I am a female who hates to shop.  It’s not that I’m opposed to purchasing material items, rather it’s because I’m too impatient to wonder around stores.  I’m just not a browser.  I shop with a purpose.  I go in knowing what I’m going to get, I find it as quickly as possible, pay for it, and get out as fast as possible.   Standing in lines at the cash will draw me to the brink of insanity on any given day, thus the reason I usually shop at small specialty boutiques.  The only exception to all of this, of course, is shopping for books.  I could easily spend hours (and a slight fortune) in a bookstore.

Alright, enough about my dislike for shopping…

What I have learned over the course of the past three years is that impatience isn’t a great trait for a writer.  In fact, writers probably spend as much time waiting as they do writing.  For me, it has been the hardest part of the writing process.  When I sent my query off to the publisher I obsessively checked my inbox every day for over a year.   I had resigned at that point that their failure to respond meant rejection, but since they indicated that they responded to all of their queries I did a big no-no and called them.  (I am imagining all the writers on here gasping in horror.)  Yes, that’s right, I called the publishing company.  Guess what happened?  They had lost my query, but since I had saved the auto-reply which proved I had, in fact, sent one, the editorial director was quite wonderful and apologetic.  She asked me to resubmit and read the query that day and lucky for me, she liked it and requested the full manuscript!

Now, for those of you who don’t know me, I’m a new writer.  I’ve wanted to be a published author for as long as I can remember, but in terms of seriously focusing on my writing I am still fairly new at this.  So, when the editorial director requested the full manuscript I envisioned in my head that she would put a rush on it (since they had lost my query and I had already waited such a long time) so my obsessive checking of email began again.  I waited a week.  Nothing.  Another week.  Nothing.  A month.  Nothing.   Every day my routine was the same: Rush home from work, frantically check email.  No response.  Grumble.  Rush to the phone to check voicemail.  No voicemail.  Grumble. Make supper.  Daydream (while making supper) that I was a rich, bestselling author with a personal chef so I wouldn’t have to make supper.  Grumble that supper sucked because I am a terrible cook.

Eventually, I couldn’t wait any longer so I emailed the editorial director to find out the status of my manuscript.   It was actually her last day working there so it was being handed over to a new editor which meant…that’s right…more waiting.  Several months later the new editor did get back to me and she had good news.  My manuscript was accepted into their publication program.

The good news, of course, being that my wait to learn the fate of my manuscript had finally come to end.  The bad news, they wanted revisions so the revised manuscript is now in line to be reviewed by the editing department so I’m STILL waiting. The even worse news, once it gets out of editing I’ll be waiting to see the cover design, then waiting for my first copy to arrive, then waiting for my book launch…

I have a feeling I’ll be waiting forever…

 

Leave a Reply

