The Comments of Others

On Sunday, a former co-worker/friend of mine passed away.  We’d only worked together for 6 months and during that time our paths had only crossed a handful of times because she worked out of the organization’s central office and I worked from a home office in a different community.  It wasn’t until I resigned from the position that we really had the opportunity to get to know each other.  I’m quite certain that the moment she heard I was leaving she looked me up on Facebook and did a friend request so we could stay in touch and it was through that venue that she transitioned from being a former co-worker to a friend.

I hear people saying all the time that the people on your Facebook friends list aren’t really your friends because you don’t hang out with them or talk to them on the phone; that they’re just people who look at your photos and comment on your status updates.  Until a few days ago, before I found out Joyce was gone, I might even have agreed to an extent.  I’ve since concluded that I now disagree completely.  The loss I’m feeling for Joyce is very real.  She was much more than an aquaintance I stayed in contact with through Facebook.  She became a very real friend because of it, who communicated with me several times a week.  She took time out of her day to connect with me, even if it was just through typewritten words and in a world that is so hectic and busy that means something. She commented on my photos, on my status updates, and sent me private messages just to check in from time to time.  That’s what real friends do.  They check in on you.  They make you laugh.  They give you support when you need it in whatever way they are able.  They share in your joys and accomplishments.

It’s ironic to me that she died on the day I started this blog.  There is no doubt in my mind that she would have taken the time to read my blog posts and she probably would have commented on every one.  I miss her everytime I log on.

I appreciate every one of you who have taken the time to visit my blog.  Feel free to leave a comment 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Comments of Others

  1. 🙂 Love your blog, Lisa! And would love to leave a comment. Your words ring so true to me. My best friend has always lived over a 1000km away so the advent of Facebook has created a way for us to be in touch daily and keep close tabs on each other…without huge phone bills! I always believe that true friends are the ones you can go days, months, and even years without seeing them but when you do get that chance to be in the same room, it’s as if you were never apart!

    PS…Can’t wait to read more!

  2. I try and keep my friends on Facebook to a minimum to ensure that they are truly friends who I care about, and they care about me as well. How can people actually be friends with the thousands of people they have as their contacts ? I am hopeful that the new and improved Facebook that is about to come out will allow us to see all the comments from our friends at the click of a button. Like you, I am grateful to my friends on Facebook who take the time to comment on my posts and photos, and would miss that terribly if it stopped. Your blog was a nice reminder of all of my dear friends. I am very sorry for the loss of your friend Joyce, and hope that you find comfort in comments from old and new ones in your blog and on Facebook. ( thanks to friend Louise H for posting your blog for me to see….I plan to share it…..m )

Leave a Reply

