Why Rejection Isn’t Always a Bad Thing

It’s been a rough 10 days in my world of writing.  First, I received a rejection letter from a literary agent I had queried.  Then, a few days later, I got a rejection notice informing me that my short story didn’t make the cut for an anthology I had submitted to.  Not the finest week in my quest to become a published author many might say.  Yet to me it was a roaring success.

Why?  Because a really successful and respected literary agent took the time to type me a response telling me she really liked my story.  Actually, she said she loved it.  The fact she opted not to represent me really doesn’t upset me at all because I didn’t really expect her to say yes to begin with.  The story I sent her was for a rhyming, lyrical picture book.  Let’s face it, the picture book market is really tough. It’s even tougher if you’re not an author/illustrator and virtually impossible if your book rhymes and your name is not Dr. Seuss because most agents just aren’t going to invest their time in a manuscript they can’t translate and sell foreign rights to.  So until stick people become the next big fad in picture books or I go to medical school, divorce my husband and then remarry someone with the last name Seuss, I will continue to face challenges to get this book published.  But that’s alright, because I know that this agent, who has read thousands of queries in her career, thinks my story is, “lively, fun, and unique” and that tells me that I’m doing something right.  Publishers are looking for unique so for me that’s well worth celebrating.

As for my rejected short story submission, that’s alright too.  I’m pretty sure I’m way too long-winded to ever find success in short stories.  What this futile attempt did do, however, was give me a great idea for something much bigger…another win in my books!

 

Leave a Reply

